What's Happening!


    We’ve been eager to put out a second anthology since Funny, Strange, Provocative was published in 2007, and the last year finally provided us with the time to take on this long-awaited project. We are thrilled to announce that Unusual Stories, Unusually Told, published by Bloomsbury/Methuen, is now available!

    In it you’ll find seven Clubbed Thumb plays that span 18 years of our history, as well as essays and interviews about the work, and the often atypical processes that led to their productions.

    Read more about the book and get your discounted copy (and our first anthology) HERE


    Jesse Green writes: “With wit, a light hand, and even occasional raggedness…The Woman’s Party is bracing political theater.” CLICK HERE TO READ THE FULL REVIEW


    Originally scheduled for Summerworks 2020, The Woman’s Party by Rinne B. Groff has been adapted into a three-party video series directed by Tara Ahmadinejad. Episode One is available now – it’s free to watch, but registration is required – CLICK HERE TO WATCH


    We’ve spent the last four months in conversation with the eight Directing Fellows, discussing craft, process and our industry (among other things). We are thrilled to now introduce you to their work, as they present short performances, each taking different shapes and experienced on different platforms, but working from the same set of prompts.

    Some projects will be open to all, and some will be experienced by very few audience members – and everything is free to attend. We hope you’ll be intrigued to join us for one or many. We’ll roll out updates regularly – so stay tuned! CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

  • EAT YOUR FEELINGS - three short videos about taking care of ourselves and each other

    Over the past few months we’ve been commissioning Clubbed Thumb artists to make short videos while we wait for theaters to re-open. We’re pleased to bring you the first installment of this initiative, a series created by Directing Fellowship alumnae Kate HopkinsKate Eminger and Caitlin Sullivan.


    It began as a chance to check-in with various CT artists during the pandemic – but quickly became a much deeper investigation of our community, of how we rely on one another, and how we might rebuild and reimagine a better future. This first episode features actress, playwright and good friend Crystal Finn cooking with her daughter Delphina (follow along from home with the recipe on the left).

    The series also features an organization which started in March to address food insecurity in New York – EV Loves NYC. Their work is crucial and ongoing, and we hope the videos inspire you to spread the word about what they do, volunteer and donate. They need our help.

    Click here to learn more & donate to EV Loves NYC


    And stay tuned for two more episodes, featuring Chinaza Uche & Caitlin Zoz and Mel Ng – as well as more commissioned work from a variety of Clubbed Thumb artists, coming soon to CT/TV!

  • Clubbed Thumb & Brown University Virtual Reading Series, December 7th and 9th

    We’re proud to partner with Brown University’s MFA Playwriting Program this fall to bring you readings of two recent graduates’ plays:

    On the Y-Axis by Lucas Baisch, directed by Josiah Davis
    The Executrix by Emma Horwitz, directed by Sarah Blush

    December 7th and 9th at 4pm and 7pm EST – RSVP HERE

  • We are pleased to announce the 2020/21 Clubbed Thumb Directing Fellows

    We struggled mightily to recalibrate this program in light of the many forces the last 7 months have brought to bear. This year’s iteration will take a very different shape than in years past, and we’re delighted to go on this journey of discovery with an expanded group of eight fellows: Leonie Bell, Nana Dakin, Michaela Escarcega, Estefanía Fadul, Rachel Gita Karp, Arpita Mukherjee, Keenan Oliphant and Joan Sergay and four mentors: Anne Kauffman, Daniel Aukin, Niegel Smith and Laurie Woolery. Read more about them HERE

  • Congratulations to the 2020 Clubbed Thumb Biennial Commission winners, finalists and semifinalists

    We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Biennial Commission: Francesca Pazniokas and Jacob Perkins and to the 10 finalists and semifinalists also awarded this year. Read more HERE

  • What the Constitution Means to Me streaming on Amazon Prime, starting October 16th

    Though the national tour is on hold, you can still catch Heidi Schreck’s beloved play (which originated in Summerworks 2017) before the election.

    Filmed during their last week on Broadway, and directed for the screen by Marielle Heller, What the Constitution Means to Me will stream on Amazon Prime beginning October 16th.

  • Meet the next Early-Career Writers' Group

    We’re excited to get to know these eight writers over the course of the coming year, and to welcome them into the Clubbed Thumb fold: Nelson Diaz-Marcano, Allyson Dwyer, Nazareth Hassan, Johnny Lloyd, Cristina Luzárraga, Kathy Ng, Hanna Novak & Ruth Tang.

    They’ll be sharing their work (by Zoom for now) over the next eight months (and we hope to share it with you after that). Learn more about them HERE.


Mark Barton, lighting designer
Jeff Biehl, actor
Adam Bock, playwright
Chris Brown, lighting designer/master electrician
Sheila Callaghan, playwright
Dan Casto, actor
Shannon Case, production manager

Erin Courtney, playwright
Randy Danson, actor
Joshua Dickens, actor/graphic designer
Megan Schwarz Dickert, stage manager
Jill DuBoff, sound designer
Laura Esterman, actor
Kip Fagan, director
Crystal Finn, actor
Susannah Flood, actor
Gibson Frazier, actor
Leah Gelpe, sound and video designer
Donnetta Lavinia Grays, actor
Tilly Grimes, costume designer
Rinne Groff, playwright

Kate Hampton, actor
Lars Hanson, actor
Carla Harting, actor
Jordan Harrison, playwright
Ann Marie Healy, playwright
Ian Helfer, actor
Nina Hellman, actor
Birgit Huppuch, actor
Dan Illian, actor
Mia Katigbak, actor
Anne Kauffman, director
Layla Khoshnoudi, actor
Tyler Kieffer, sound consultant
Christina Kirk, actor
Portia Krieger, director
Carson Kreitzer, playwright
Polly Lee, actress

Ethan Lipton, playwright
Meg MacCary, actor; Co-Founder and Co-Artistic Director 1996 – 2009
Pam MacKinnon, director
Matthew Maher, actor
Arnulfo Maldonado, scenic designer
Dave Malloy, sound designer/composer
Sydney Maresca, costume designer
Garin Marschall, lighting designer

Annie McNamara, actor
Raphael Mishler, prop & puppet designer
Corinne Moreno, stage manager
David Morris, set designer
Gregory S. Moss, playwright
Carolyn Mraz, set designer
Jan Munroe, actor/playwright
Paul Olmer, set designer/technical director
Sylvan Oswald, playwright
Robert Alexander Owens, actor

Jessica Pabst, costume designer
Hubert Point-Du Jour, actor
David Ramirez, technical director
Sue Rees, set designer
Shane Rettig, sound designer/composer
David Roy, lighting designer/master electrician
Kate E. Ryan, playwright
Noah Scalin, visual artist/graphic designer
Gina Scherr, lighting designer
Ken Rus Schmoll, director

Heidi Schreck, actor/playwright
Mary Schultz, actor
Jenny Schwartz, playwright
Mark Shanahan, actor
Michael Showalter, actor/playwright
Jason Simms, set designer
Pete Simpson, actor
Mary Spadoni, stage manager
Peggy Stafford, playwright
Sunny Stapleton, stage manager
Dan Sturges, actor
Alison Tatlock, actor/playwright

Louisa Thompson, set and costume designer
Kathleen Tobin, dramaturg
James Urbaniak, actor
Anne Washburn, playwright
John Wellmann, actor
Brandon Wolcott, sound designer

Danny Wolohan, actor
Kirche Leigh Zeile, costume designer
Mather Zickel, actor
Daniel Zimmerman, scenic designer